StarTools 1.3.5.289

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.
Post Reply
User avatar
MarcoS
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:25 pm

StarTools 1.3.5.289

Post by MarcoS »

Good day Ivo,

I have upgraded to version 1.3.5.289 - 64 bit version on 64bit Win7 pro Laptop with intel I7 16Gig

I got problems now by opening a particular 218 MB DSS fit file that it does not want to open, and ST hang on it.
This file it opens fine with the previous installed version 1.3.5.279

The file in question can be downloaded here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6oGP3 ... sp=sharing

Please advise.

Thank you

Best regards
Marco
Clear skies
Marco
Meade LS6" ACF, zeroshift focuser, Antares 6.3, 2" TS diag 2"Hyperion 72° 36mm, 2" TS 70° 22mm, 2"TSBarlow Cronuos 68° 1,25" 9 / 4mm, Pyxis LE
Olympus XZ1, EOS1100D, ASI120MC Soft. APT, DSS, StarTools.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2401
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.3.5.289

Post by admin »

Hi Marco,

Thanks for sharing the data. I downloaded it and tried to load it into StarTools. It took a long time (3-4 mins), but it eventually completed. The cause for the long delay is an enormous amount of missing/'coerrpt' data (numbers that fall outside the in the FITS file specified range, or numbers that are marked as NaN - Not a Number). StarTools tries to interpolate and extrapolate the missing data to the best of its abilities, which takes time. The reason it does this is that such missing values would otherwise interfere with its noise tracking abilities and various other functions. The main cause of the missing data appears to be the pretty huge stacking artifacts.
If using DSS, you should be able to tell it to not generate stacking artifacts. You can also avoid this behavior by saving as 32-bit Integer FITS which cannot encode NaN, though you'll possibly end up with other small problems due to incomplete data.

Hope this helps!

Ivo
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
MarcoS
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: StarTools 1.3.5.289

Post by MarcoS »

Good day Ivo,
Thanks for the answer.
I did use DSS to do the stacking

The original autosave file, I cannot load, I have waited about 30min with no success :(
The saved 32bit integer it does load after a wile but presents "tons" of artefacts.

Looks like it is more a DSS than a StarTools problem.

Could you please advise how to tell DSS to not generate stacking artifacts, I cannot find such an option in DSS.
are you aware ofs a better software to do the stacking that does not generate those stacking artefacts?

Best regards
Marco
Clear skies
Marco
Meade LS6" ACF, zeroshift focuser, Antares 6.3, 2" TS diag 2"Hyperion 72° 36mm, 2" TS 70° 22mm, 2"TSBarlow Cronuos 68° 1,25" 9 / 4mm, Pyxis LE
Olympus XZ1, EOS1100D, ASI120MC Soft. APT, DSS, StarTools.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2401
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.3.5.289

Post by admin »

No problem, it's here;
Screenshot-Stacking Parameters.png
Screenshot-Stacking Parameters.png (74.91 KiB) Viewed 3145 times
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
MarcoS
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: StarTools 1.3.5.289

Post by MarcoS »

Good day Ivo,
Thanks for the advice, I have changed the settings in DSS as suggested, and the Artifacts are now much less prominent and the file open with out problems.

thanks for the help!

have a nice weekend
Marco
Clear skies
Marco
Meade LS6" ACF, zeroshift focuser, Antares 6.3, 2" TS diag 2"Hyperion 72° 36mm, 2" TS 70° 22mm, 2"TSBarlow Cronuos 68° 1,25" 9 / 4mm, Pyxis LE
Olympus XZ1, EOS1100D, ASI120MC Soft. APT, DSS, StarTools.
Post Reply