stacking with normalisation

General discussion about StarTools.
Post Reply
alacant
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:03 am

stacking with normalisation

Post by alacant »

Hi everyone
Should I use normalisation when stacking light frames? I use Siril and have the option to use normalisation but am unsure if this would upset StarTools' appetite for Linear, more linear and nothing but linear approach.
TIA and clear skies,
Steve
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2501
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: stacking with normalisation

Post by admin »

Hi,

You may be interested in this thread. It explains some of the considerations around normalisation.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
alacant
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:03 am

Re: stacking with normalisation

Post by alacant »

Thanks Ivo
OK, so I think it's a 'no' to normalisation. Yes?
Cheers
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2501
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: stacking with normalisation

Post by admin »

:) Generally, 'no', but please bear in mind it may be needed under some circumstances for your stacker to work correctly.
If you are unsure, try processing your stack with and without normalisation and see if the normalised stack produces significantly better end-results during post-processing in StarTools.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Post Reply