StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Bugs, glitches and unexpected behaviour.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by admin »

cytan299 wrote: Here's more info from my MacBook Pro 16.
Many thanks! Very interesting. The crash does not seem GPU acceleration related at first glance. I may PM you about it a little later if that's OK.
Topographic wrote:Tried deconvolution and got some odd ring effects with some stars.
It's a little hard to see in the image you attached, however, this may just be expected behaviour due to inappropriate settings or an inappropriate star mask.
It may be useful to have a look at the documentation to see how to use the Decon module effectively.
Is moffat the default PSF?
A Moffat PSF with beta 4.765 is default indeed. It better models for atmospheric turbulence (see documentation, also for the paper by Trujillo et al. behind this particular value). Non-Gaussian profiles are a bit slower to deconvolve with, but improvements and GPU acceleration should minimise the impact.
Error diffusion = when you pree help you get Regularization that mentions a default of '1'. Default seems to be 'Off'
Documentation/help is not up-to-date in alpha (development) versions. Error diffusion (name tentative) is a re-working of the Regularization parameter in 1.6 to be more intuitive and useful.
Hope this helps!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
cytan299
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 am

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by cytan299 »

admin wrote:
cytan299 wrote: Here's more info from my MacBook Pro 16.
Many thanks! Very interesting. The crash does not seem GPU acceleration related at first glance. I may PM you about it a little later if that's OK.
Please PM me. Glad to help.

cytan
Topographic
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:58 pm

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by Topographic »

I attached the log file with the original post...the artifact was like ringing with another ring in 4 separate pieces outside it. I do struggle a little with decon. I will try again!
I can't quite see that artifact in the image you attached, however it sounds like an overexposing star may not have been completely masked out (try Mask > Shrink > Keep). You can also increase the Mask Fuzz parameter.
Though traditionally very hard to control, using Decon in ST effectively should be a lot easier. Definitely have a look at the documentation.
Aslo, feel free to upload your dataset so we can better get an idea what you're struggling with!
juno16
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:18 pm

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by juno16 »

Hi Ivo and Startools Forum,

I just downloaded version 1.7.402 alpha.

When I execute the file StarTools-Windows64.exe, the Startools application runs fine. I really am looking forward to trying out the new version with its features.

This is what I see in the "About" window.
Startools About 1.7.402.png
Startools About 1.7.402.png (94.73 KiB) Viewed 7045 times
When I execute the file StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe, the Startools splash screen loads, then disappears. I have tried rebooting and get the same result.

I would like to take advantage of the new GPU acceleration features if my hardware will support it.

My system:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 2700x 8 core/16 thread
MB: Gigabyte B450M DS3H
RAM: 2X16GB of TEAMGROUP-UD4-2666mhz
Graphics: AMD Radeon RX-570 4GB
Boot: 500GB NVME M.2.
OS: Windows 10 ver. 2004

Thanks for any assistance you can offer!
juno16
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:18 pm

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by juno16 »

Here is the windows error log if it helps.

Version=1
EventType=BEX64
EventTime=132392424259068750
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=132392424261260587
ReportStatus=268435456
ReportIdentifier=f4b64cc5-cda3-4703-b9fa-6becea043b10
IntegratorReportIdentifier=492a03f5-1fdf-4d08-b857-d5e3b05b1418
Wow64Host=34404
NsAppName=StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
AppSessionGuid=00002dd4-0001-0007-492f-c557355ad601
TargetAppId=W:0006f953ed0c0e666a15a7594b85ebe98cac0000ffff!0000933c64fcec729872bfcfedda91477c04395ad17c!StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
TargetAppVer=1970//01//01:00:00:01!1dc48d!StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
BootId=4294967295
ServiceSplit=2147483653
TargetAsId=2295
UserImpactVector=269484304
IsFatal=1
EtwNonCollectReason=1
Response.BucketId=4d2b0efb299e40724f9587c4829bbbb4
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.LegacyBucketId=2275874464780237748
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Application Name
Sig[0].Value=StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
Sig[1].Name=Application Version
Sig[1].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[2].Name=Application Timestamp
Sig[2].Value=00000001
Sig[3].Name=Fault Module Name
Sig[3].Value=StackHash_cafc
Sig[4].Name=Fault Module Version
Sig[4].Value=0.0.0.0
Sig[5].Name=Fault Module Timestamp
Sig[5].Value=00000000
Sig[6].Name=Exception Offset
Sig[6].Value=PCH_9B_FROM_ntdll+0x000000000009B8E4
Sig[7].Name=Exception Code
Sig[7].Value=c0000005
Sig[8].Name=Exception Data
Sig[8].Value=0000000000000008
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=10.0.19041.2.0.0.768.101
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
DynamicSig[22].Name=Additional Information 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=cafc
DynamicSig[23].Name=Additional Information 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=cafc10f565533f6f68b0f59435f93281
DynamicSig[24].Name=Additional Information 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=caa9
DynamicSig[25].Name=Additional Information 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=caa9509e6c39da7d260b6a3d32f0910f
UI[2]=C:\StarTools_1_7_402_alpha\distro\StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
LoadedModule[0]=C:\StarTools_1_7_402_alpha\distro\StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\aswhook.dll
LoadedModule[3]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
LoadedModule[4]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[5]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\comdlg32.dll
LoadedModule[6]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\combase.dll
LoadedModule[8]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ucrtbase.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[10]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\shcore.dll
LoadedModule[11]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\USER32.dll
LoadedModule[12]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\win32u.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\gdi32full.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcp_win.dll
LoadedModule[16]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHELL32.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.19041.1_none_4b395a7b3c8e63ab\COMCTL32.dll
LoadedModule[19]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ADVAPI32.dll
LoadedModule[20]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[21]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
LoadedModule[22]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OpenCL.dll
LoadedModule[23]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ole32.dll
LoadedModule[24]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\CFGMGR32.dll
LoadedModule[25]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[26]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[27]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[28]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\OLEAUT32.dll
LoadedModule[29]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\kernel.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\textinputframework.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\CoreUIComponents.dll
LoadedModule[33]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\CoreMessaging.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[35]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntmarta.dll
LoadedModule[36]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wintypes.dll
LoadedModule[37]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0350750.inf_amd64_eec9ec9061f63f93\B349558\amdocl64.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SETUPAPI.dll
LoadedModule[39]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[40]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\OPENGL32.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\GLU32.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0350750.inf_amd64_eec9ec9061f63f93\B349558\atiadlxx.dll
LoadedModule[44]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\PSAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[45]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PROPSYS.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\WINTRUST.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPT32.dll
LoadedModule[49]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSASN1.dll
LoadedModule[50]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[51]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0350750.inf_amd64_eec9ec9061f63f93\B349558\atig6txx.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0350750.inf_amd64_eec9ec9061f63f93\B349558\amdocl12cl64.dll
LoadedModule[53]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dbghelp.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\u0350750.inf_amd64_eec9ec9061f63f93\B349558\amd_comgr.dll
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
OsInfo[0].Key=vermaj
OsInfo[0].Value=10
OsInfo[1].Key=vermin
OsInfo[1].Value=0
OsInfo[2].Key=verbld
OsInfo[2].Value=19041
OsInfo[3].Key=ubr
OsInfo[3].Value=329
OsInfo[4].Key=versp
OsInfo[4].Value=0
OsInfo[5].Key=arch
OsInfo[5].Value=9
OsInfo[6].Key=lcid
OsInfo[6].Value=1033
OsInfo[7].Key=geoid
OsInfo[7].Value=244
OsInfo[8].Key=sku
OsInfo[8].Value=101
OsInfo[9].Key=domain
OsInfo[9].Value=0
OsInfo[10].Key=prodsuite
OsInfo[10].Value=768
OsInfo[11].Key=ntprodtype
OsInfo[11].Value=1
OsInfo[12].Key=platid
OsInfo[12].Value=10
OsInfo[13].Key=sr
OsInfo[13].Value=0
OsInfo[14].Key=tmsi
OsInfo[14].Value=220651383
OsInfo[15].Key=osinsty
OsInfo[15].Value=3
OsInfo[16].Key=iever
OsInfo[16].Value=11.329.19041.0-11.0.195
OsInfo[17].Key=portos
OsInfo[17].Value=0
OsInfo[18].Key=ram
OsInfo[18].Value=32716
OsInfo[19].Key=svolsz
OsInfo[19].Value=464
OsInfo[20].Key=wimbt
OsInfo[20].Value=0
OsInfo[21].Key=blddt
OsInfo[21].Value=191206
OsInfo[22].Key=bldtm
OsInfo[22].Value=1406
OsInfo[23].Key=bldbrch
OsInfo[23].Value=vb_release
OsInfo[24].Key=bldchk
OsInfo[24].Value=0
OsInfo[25].Key=wpvermaj
OsInfo[25].Value=0
OsInfo[26].Key=wpvermin
OsInfo[26].Value=0
OsInfo[27].Key=wpbuildmaj
OsInfo[27].Value=0
OsInfo[28].Key=wpbuildmin
OsInfo[28].Value=0
OsInfo[29].Key=osver
OsInfo[29].Value=10.0.19041.329.amd64fre.vb_release.191206-1406
OsInfo[30].Key=buildflightid
OsInfo[30].Value=C0DD2958-3F6C-41DD-85BE-41F4BE4DFAC2.1
OsInfo[31].Key=edition
OsInfo[31].Value=Core
OsInfo[32].Key=ring
OsInfo[32].Value=Retail
OsInfo[33].Key=expid
OsInfo[33].Value=RS:6434
OsInfo[34].Key=fconid
OsInfo[35].Key=containerid
OsInfo[36].Key=containertype
OsInfo[37].Key=edu
OsInfo[37].Value=0
FriendlyEventName=Stopped working
ConsentKey=BEX64
AppName=StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
AppPath=C:\StarTools_1_7_402_alpha\distro\StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe
NsPartner=windows
NsGroup=windows8
ApplicationIdentity=F21948E54975DCB22987C31273FA51FE
MetadataHash=153366403
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by admin »

juno16 wrote:When I execute the file StarTools-Windows64-GPU.exe, the Startools splash screen loads, then disappears. I have tried rebooting and get the same result.
Thank you for reporting this. This is - sadly - the first instance I have found of 1.7 not properly working on Windows. :cry: Reports are that polaris cards (RX 580, RX 570) are working OK on Linux and macOS now.

A couple of things;
  • Are you running the latest drivers for your graphics card?
  • Does the splash come up with "StarTools 7" before it crashes?
  • Does temporarily(!) turning off AVAST help the situation?
Thank you,
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
juno16
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:18 pm

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by juno16 »

Hi Ivo,

Thanks for responding!

To answer your questions:

Are you running the latest drivers for your graphics card?

I was running a recent driver, but just updated to the latest "optional" driver dated 7/11/20. No help.

Does the splash come up with "StarTools 7" before it crashes?

Yes. It appears for about 6 seconds then crashes.

Does temporarily(!) turning off AVAST help the situation?

I turned off all Avast shields and tried, no change.

Thanks for your help and please let me know if I can help on this end.

Jim
prusling
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:21 pm

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by prusling »

Fantastic work, Ivo. Speed of the alpha on my Ryzen 4600H with GeForce GTX 1650 is stunning. Happy to serve as a tester if you need me to do so.

Cheers
Peter
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by admin »

Thank you all for testing 1.7. :bow-yellow: Version 1.7.407 - amongst other things - should also resolve the issue on macOS (thank you @Cytan299 and @hixx!). It now also works properly on dual graphics solution laptops, switching to the discrete GPU where possible.

The only remaining issue now, is a peculiar problem with AMD RX 570 cards on Windows. These cards, however, seem to work on both Linux and macOS hackintoshes.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: StarTools 1.6 Final, 1.7 Alpha w/GPU acceleration

Post by admin »

AMD RX 570 problem seems to have been fixed now too (thank you @juno16 and Peter).
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Post Reply